Janet Hapgood

Lab Members

Hapgood LabCurrent MSc students:
Kim Enfield, Maleshigo Komane, Salndave Skosana, Michael Kuipa, Gcina Dlamini, Tawanda Nhundu

Current PhD students:
Mosoko Johnson, Alexis Bick, Calvin Kemp

Past PhD students:
Nicolette Verhoog, Donita Africander


Current Post Doc:
Dr Michelle Maritz, Dr John Woodland

Past Post Docs:
Dr Andrea du Toit, Dr Michele Tomasicchio

Research Officer:
Dr Chanel Avenant

Research Assistant:
Mrs Karen van der Merwe

Several Postgraduate students have been sent overseas in the last 3 years for training ie Mosoko Johnson, McMaster University; Canada; Roslyn Ray, Imperial College UK; Yashini Govender, Harvard USA; and Lance Wehmeyer, Germany). Funding from UCT, and others.

Carnegie Program:
Research in the Hapgood lab has been bolstered by the Carnegie Program for Infectious Diseases, from which several postgrads are currently recipients of prestigious bursaries/fellowships: ie. Yashini Govender, Roslyn Ray, Mosoko Johnson, Dr Chanel Avenant. This program has been wonderful in supporting future academics in Africa.