Search

Home > People > Staff > Academic > Jill Farrant > Lab Members
Jill Farrant

Lab Members

Dr Amelia Reddy- Post-doctoral fellow
amelia.reddy@uct.ac.za | +27 21 650 4497

Dr Nashied Peton - Post-doctoral fellow
nashied.peton@uct.ac.za | +27 21 650 4497

Amogelang Gill - PhD
The role of selected cell wall proteins in protection against mechanical stress during desiccation in plant tissues.
Certain desiccation-tolerant (DT) plants use extensive folding of the cell wall to minimize the damage that occurs from stress experienced during dehydration. Recent work has shown that leaf mechanical properties are also affected by water status. In addition, acquisition of DT involves the synthesis of stress-induced proteins. My aim is to determine whether cell wall proteins influence the mechanical properties of cell walls during the drying of DT plants that display differences in mechanical properties.
amogelang.gill@uct.ac.za | +27 21 650 4682

Alireza Kiyaei - PhD
alireza.kiyaei@uct.ac.za | +27 21 650 4497

Mehafo Nepembe - PhD
mehafo.nepembe@uct.ac.za | +27 21 650 4682

Freedom Tshabuse - PhD 
freedom.tshabuse@uct.ac.za | +27 21 650 4682

Millie Hilgart - PhD
HLGAME001@myuct.ac.za

Rizqah Kamies - PhD
rizqah.kamies@uct.ac.za | +27 21 650 4682

Ryman Shoko - PhD
ryman.shoko@uct.ac.za | +27 21 650 4682

Halford Dace - PhD
halford.dace@uct.ac.za | +27 21 650 4497

Keren Cooper - scientific officer / lab manager
The majority of my work involves the use of electron microscopy to examine the ultrastructure of desiccation-tolerant and -sensitive plants and immunolocalization of various molecules thought to be associated with desiccation tolerance.
keren.cooper@uct.ac.za | +27 21 650 2303