BRU members

Biopharming Research Unit


Home Members News

Professor Edward P Rybicki, Professor in Microbiology, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology (MCB) and Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine (IIDMM)
Responsible for: Overall administration and planning, some project supervision
MCB website | IIDMM website

Deputy Director
Assoc. Prof. Inga Hitzeroth (Senior Research Officer, MCB)
Responsible for: Administration, planning, and Influenza virus, Human papillomavirus (HPV), rotavirus,  Beak and feather disease virus (BFDV) research

Research Staff
Dr Ann Meyers (Research Officer, MCB)
Responsible for: Administration, planning, and research on high-value enzymes as well as Rift Valley fever virus (RVFV), Crimean-Congo haemorrhagic fever (CCHFV), Bluetongue virus (BTV) and Foot and mouth disease (FMDV)

Postdoctoral Fellows
Dr Alta van Zyl:
Project leader on Medicago projects
Dr Megan Hendrikse: HPV VLPs and pseudovirions and tissue culture projects
Dr Sandiswa Mbewana: BTV and RVFV
Dr  Aleyo Chabeda: HPV therapeutic vaccines and CRISPR projects
Dr Emmanuel Margolin: HIV SHIP project
Dr Sue Dennis: ASHV project

Scientific Officers:
Mr Corrie Gunter:
support for Medicago project
Mr Matt Verbeek: support for HIV SHIP project